V4DIS--Visegrad Group for Developing Information Society V4DIS--Visegrad Group for Developing Information Society
V4DIS--Visegrad Group for Developing Information Society V4DIS--Visegrad Group for Developing Information Society April 6—8, 2014, Prague & Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic

EuroCrest Contest

Best of the web sites: European competition of towns and communities

The EuroCrest competition is based on experience gained from the Czech contest Golden Crest during last eight years and on consultation with European Union experts. The aims is to reward excellence and promote the exchange of best practice, to highlight the efforts made by European local administrations in using Information Society Technologies to improve the quality and accessibility of their public services and to speed up the development of on-line administrative services in Europe.

1. Subject of the contest

The focus of the contest EuroCrest is on

  • Exploitation of information and communication technologies as a tool of intensification of democratic mechanism especially in these areas:
    1. Transparency in decision making by elected authorities
    2. Degree of opening to the public
    3. Extent of public participation in preparation of decision making influencing everyday life of the municipality
  • Level of the delivery of information and services to citizens and businesses (the four-stage model adopted for eEurope's benchmarking of eGovernment services to citizens and enterprises: Information–Interaction–Transaction–Integration).

2. Participants of the contest

The contest is open to all European towns and communities; it is under consideration to create two categories according to population there.

3. Organizers of the contest

Announcer of the contest is the Golden Crest Association. Results and winners will be published during the Conference ISSS/V4DIS (April 7th, 2014, Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic).

4. Nomination

Based on the call for proposals associations of towns and communities of the Central and East Europena countries will nominate competitors–winners of national contest or similar organisations, if this national contest is held, or if not, than on the bases of their own evaluation.

From the countries, in which there are held national contests concerning the web sites of towns, municipalities and regions, there are generally nominated for this contest those who reached the top positions–such is the case for example in the Czech Republic (Golden Crest), Poland (Golden At), Slovakia (GoldenCrest.sk) and in some other countries. There is in the competence of jury to nominate other web sites of the towns and communities from Central and East European countries.

Nominations are accepted on zubr@ceskyzavinac.cz.


Winners of the EuroCrest Contest 2001

Winners of the EuroCrest Contest 2002

A special prize was given to the city of Vienna (Austria), whose web pages can be used as a reference as far as quality is concerned.

Winners of the EuroCrest Contest 2003

Winners of the EuroCrest Contest 2004

Placed among the main prize-winning projects was also the official website of the Vysocina Region (Czech Republic).

Winners of the EuroCrest Contest 2005

Winners of EuroCrest competition 2006

Winners of EuroCrest competition 2007

Winners of EuroCrest competition 2008

Winners of EuroCrest competition 2009

Winners of EuroCrest competition 2010

Winners of EuroCrest competition 2011

Winners of EuroCrest competition 2012

Winners of EuroCrest competition 2013

Winners of EuroCrest competition 2014

Directions explaining how to organize this competition